Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

ACAT Meeting 2016The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) Council Against Trafficking-in-Person (ACAT) convened its 1st Regular Meeting for CY 2016 on April 20, 2016 at the Badjau Hall, Office of the Regional Governor (ORG), Cotabato City.

The Council was created to work out with the rehabilitation of the victims of human trafficking and prosecute those involved in the illegal recruitment as stated in the Republic Act No. 10364, also known as the "Expanded Anti-Trafficking in Persons Act of 2012".

Atty. Laisa Masuhud-Alamia, ARMM's Executive Secretary and ACAT Acting Chairperson, said that the meeting aimed to strengthen its campaign against trafficking and illegal recruitment in the region.


The Council presented and discussed the updates on the current Trafficking in Persons (TIP) situation in the region and its current interventions, formulation of strategies for the organization of the Anti-Trafficking Task Force on Sea-Based and Air-Based, preparation for the 2016 Annual Work Planning, ARMM Strategic Action Plan against TIP CY 2013-2016, and proposed Executive Order creating ARMM Task Force Group (ATG) to address the needs of the deportees in Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi (BASULTA).

Included in the meeting were the establishment of One-Stop Processing Center (OSPC) in Bongao, Tawi-Tawi and proposed educational trip to Malaysia to document the current situation of deportees/potential TIP victims, and formulate concrete actions with regards to the problem.

The meeting was chaired by Office of the Executive Secretary (OES) and participated in by the Office of the Attorney General (OAG), Department of Justice- Maguindanao Provincial Prosecutors Office (DOJ-MPPO), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), Department of Agriculture and Fisheries (DAF), Regional Planning and Development Office (RPDO), Regional Human Rights Commission (RHRC), Regional Ports Management Authority (RPMA), Bureau of Public Information (BPI), ARMM-Humanitarian Development and Action Plan (ARMM-HDAP) Project Management Office (PMO), Technical Education and Skills Management Authority (TESDA), International Organization for Migration (IOM), Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG), Philippine National Police-Women and Children Protection Desk (PNP-WCPD), and Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA).


Powered by mod LCA